Owners of Facebook groups can delete their groups by removing all members first. As soon as the owner is the only person in a group, they can delete it.
By archiving a group, the group will no longer appear in search results to non-members, and new members will not be able to join it. The original owner of a group can only leave the group before admins can delete it.
The “Delete this Group” button will not work for group owners. Group admins can also make groups private. Only members can see the group on Facebook. The group name and description will be visible to members. Group owners can delete a group from their own Timeline, but they cannot do it from other people’s Timelines.
Introduction of Facebook
In 2004, Facebook was created by Harvard University student Mark Zuckerberg. The website was intended to be an online version of the University’s printed Facebook, a directory of new students. At that time, membership to the website was limited to Harvard students only. Within a month, Facebook grew to include other Ivy League students and had over 1 million users within a year.
By the end of 2005, Facebook expanded to include a network of 800 colleges and universities, then high schools, and then international students. Facebook, a privately owned company, headquartered in Palo Alto, California, began accepting membership of anyone over the age of The social networking site currently has over 90 million active users. Mark Zuckerberg, age 24 and a Harvard drop-out, is ranked 785 in Forbes Magazine’s list of the world’s billionaires, with a net worth of approximately $3.5 billion.
How to Delete a Facebook group from Desktop
You can delete Facebook groups from your Desktop by following these steps:
- You can access group icons from your news feed’s “Explore” section. The Explore section of your Facebook newsfeed can be found on the left side.
- An admin must first be in charge of the group before it can be deleted. Once you are the group admin, click the group to delete. Because I am the admin and creator of the group, I have selected and clicked on “Ranchi Travel”.
- Using the three dots (…) on the right of each member, click “Members” on the left and remove all members of the group one by one.
- By clicking on “confirm” you will be able to remove each member one by one. Upon clicking confirm, Facebook will pop up another window that says “remove members from the group”. Put a checkmark on each radio button and then click the “confirm” button.
- Once all the other members have been removed, you will need to select “Leave Group” next to your name.
- After clicking the “Leave and Delete” button, the group will be removed. Facebook will then delete the group.
- Now that you know how to remove Facebook groups from your Desktop or computer, you can delete them. Let’s see how we can remove Facebook groups from our smartphones or mobile devices.
How To Delete A Facebook Group From A Web Browser?
- Navigate to the “Groups” section of the home page on Facebook.com.
- Click on the group you wish to delete.
- To view members, click the “Members” button on the left-hand side of the screen.
- Choose “Remove from Group” next to each member’s name, then click “Confirm.”
- Once all members have been removed, click “More” next to your name. You can also select “Leave and Delete” if you decide to leave the group.
I have also wrapped this article, hoping you have thoroughly understood this article. Finally, I would love to get your feedback about this article. So please comment on the comment box and let me know about this article. On the other hand, I suggest you join our Facebook group Being Bloggers to learn more advanced tips and tricks from our group members.